Many Mini Modern Blocks: It’s a Stretch

When I originally picked this block to be earlier in the line up, I didn’t realize that it required paper piecing until I looked at the directions to complete the block.  But, given my propensity to paper piecing as of late, thanks to the Farmer’s Wife, I decided to leave it on the schedule and give it a go!

This block was designed by Angela Pingel, who blogs over at Cut to Pieces…she’s also one of the “stars” of Modern Blocks.  Her block “It’s a Stretch” graces the cover of the book and I’ll be featuring several of her designs throughout the QAL because she’s got lots of great designs included in the book!

Since I’m using a particular color palette I didn’t follow her variegated color styling that’s pictured in the book but I’m bookmarking this one to return for later projects.

Without further ado, here’s the modifications for a 6 1/2″ unfinished block:

1. Print out the template found in the back of the book at 100%.

2. Cut your fabrics into 1 1/2″ strips

3. Get a glass of wine (or two…or three)

4. Make sure you have a bit of time for this one. (It was my first run at the block but I have done a bit of paper piecing and this one took almost 2 hours to complete…yikes!  Wait until you see the results, they’re so worth it!)

5. I also really recommend using an Add-a-Quarter ruler to make trimming your pieces.  It makes for perfect results!

In order to keep all of the pieces straight (there are 28 little bits of fabric to sew together!!!) I colored the back of my paper piecing to template keep everything straight:

And two hours, 28 trips to and from the ironing board later, here’s the finished project:

See you on Tuesday for the next block!

One thought on “Many Mini Modern Blocks: It’s a Stretch

  1. Lindsey says:

    That is a really awesome block! I’m envisioning larger scale and a whole quilt of them.

Leave a Reply

