Many Mini Modern Block 5: On the Fence

Today’s block was designed by Weeks Ringle and Bill Kerr who blog over at Craft Nectar.  You may know their names if you’ve seen the book Transparency Quilts.  I saw this book recently in my LQS and I’m hoping my dear sweet husband is kind enough to pick me up a copy for Valentine’s Day (look honey: you can get it on Amazon).  But seriously, their quilt designs are amazing.

My original thoughts on choosing the order for the blocks was to first select designs that would require only straight line piecing and/or minimal piecing.  This block is deceptively not simple.  How hard could it be to sew a few strips together?  Have you ever tried to sew pieces of fabric that finish at just a 1/4″ each?  I won’t mention how I had the brilliant idea to shrink those strips down even further…

Just be warned, precise piecing required!

Here’s the adjusted size dimensions:

Fabric A:
(2)          1 5/8″ x 6 1/2″
(5)          7/8″ x 6 1/2″

Fabric B:
(6)          3/4″ x 6 1/2″

And here’s the finished block:

Fabrics I used:
Kona solids in white and buttercup

Note: The width of the Fabric B strips were not adjusted.  Extra adjustments were made to the Fabric A strips.  I also had to trim my block down by 1/8″ on each side.

See you on Thursday for the next mini modern block!

Leave a Reply

