WIP Wednesday: Farmer’s Wife Quilt Along

Alright, I’ve committed to trying many new things in quilting this year and one of them that I’m trying out is WIP Wednesdays hosted by Lee over at Freshly Pieced:

Being a newer quilter I’ve been eyeing the Farmer’s Wife quilts that are popping up all over and have been debating on whether or not to join in on the fun…so 2009, right?  I’m just a little behind the time, but then voila! Lindsey over at Happier than a Bird is hosting a Farmer’s Wife QAL that just began this month.

So, in the spirit of trying new things…I’m in!  I’ve got a little catching up to do, but I made five blocks so far this week.  I’m paper piecing them all (also a new technique for me!) which has delivered some awesomely precise blocks.  I just might be hooked on paper piecing!

Blocks I completed this week:

Block 1: Attic Window

Block 2: Autumn Tints

Block 4: Basket Weave

Block 6: Big Dipper

Block 10: Bowtie

Hmmm…now on to the embarassing part, the works in progress round-up:

No Progress
1. 1600 Quilt…this project is driving me nuts!
2. Quilting of the Bliss quilt: really, it just needs quilted
4. Central Park Sodoku Quilt: needs quilt top assembly
5. Cherish Nature Charm Quilt: needs quilt top assembly
6. Wonky Siggy quilt for sister-in-law
7. Amy Butler Style Stitches Sew-Along
8. LQS Block of the Month

Some Progress
1. Many Mini Modern Blocks QAL
2. Farmer’s Wife QAL
3. Amy Butler Charm Clutch

So there you have it…at least 11 projects up in the air…maybe in 2011 I should also try finishing some things I started!

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Farmer’s Wife Quilt Along

  1. Taryn says:

    I have been eyeing the farmer’s wife blocks too, but I didn’t know if I was too much of a newbie for them 🙂 Your blocks are beautiful! I really love the colors. It is going to be a great finished quilt!

  2. Lindsey says:

    Do you have any issues printing the paper piecing templates? It just took me 7 tries to get the scale right for block 15’s template. Are your’s all perfectly 6″ blocks?

  3. Lindsey says:

    oops – shouldn’t have posted yet.
    Your blocks are fabulous! I really just love Ruby for this project =)

  4. […] So here’s  what I accomplished since the last Farmer’s Wife post: […]

Leave a Reply

