The Official Many Mini Modern Blocks QAL Announcement!

So here it is…2012!  They say that the years go faster the older you get and I can certainly attest to that! I feel like it should still be summertime.   Where did the time go?  Hmm…maybe the hours I’ve spent lost in my sewing room and LQS could account for much of it…

To ring in the new year, I’m happy to make the official Many Mini Modern Blocks Quilt Along!!!!

This is the first quilt along I’ve hosted and I’m looking forward to the challenge.  If you haven’t already purchased a copy of this amazing book Modern Blocks you’ll need it for the QAL.  No instructions will be provided, that’s what the book is for.  But I will be posting the adjusted math to make 6 1/2″ unfinished blocks rather than the 12 1 /2″ blocks described in the book.  If you’re like me, doing the math is the hard part…and now it’s done for you!

The finished project will be a sampler quilt with all 99 blocks plus 1 uniquely designed by you!  10 x 10 blocks plus sashing and border will yield a quilt 75″ x75″ just in time for a late summer picnic!

Each Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday I’ll be posting for the QAL, so we’ll be doing three blocks a week.  What’s 99 blocks when you’re just doing three a week!

So here’s the schedule for this week:

Monday: Official Announcement

Tuesday: Picking a Color Palette

Wednesday: Fabric Requirements

Tomorrow I’ll get the Flickr group up and running and will have the button posted for everyone to grab.

Happy New Year!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

