Christmas Crafty Crap Hangover

Okay, so I didn’t exactly blog all about my mad dash to the Christmas Crafty Crap finish line, but…believe you me, did I ever sew…and sew…and sew.  Usually I was sewing into the wee hours of the morning and since I’m not lucky enough to have crafting as my full-time job, blogging gave way to sleep.

Here’s the run-down of the rest of the week’s projects:

Day 8:Tick-Tock  Ticker-Tape Doll Quilt

I love love love this doll quilt!  Inspired by the book Pretty in Patchwork: Doll Quilts

Day 9:  Wish Upon a Wonky Star doll quilt

Also from the fantastic book Pretty in Patchwork, this design is featured on the cover.  It was also my first experience working with linen and I really liked it.  I love the thickness you feel in your hands when sewing.

Day 10 & 11: Picnic Placemats, Napkins, & Quilt

So this gift was broken up over two days since there were so many parts.  Napkins, placemats, and quilt top were made one day, then the quilt was quilted the next.  Yes, that’s right…an entire quilt in two days.  (Notice the simple simple design.)  I was really pleased with the results. The fabrics are from Joel Dewberry’s Heirloom collection, which I adore, and it just so happens that they work great as feature fabrics…minimal cutting and piecing here I come!

I used laminated cotton for the first time to create the placemats and I really liked working with it…certainly there will be more projects like this in the future!

Day 12: Everyday Reversible Shopper

A few weeks ago, I bought the newish Amy Butler book Style Stitches but hadn’t gotten around to making anything out of it.  I started perusing blog land for inspiration and quite frankly was a little intimidated by the comments on some of the patterns.  But, since I’m quite possibly certifiably crazy, I wan’t yet dissuaded.

Then, I found this great sew a long over onMy Crafty Crap (<= a girl after my own heart, eh) and I took the plunge.  I figure Christmas was a great opportunity to start the sew-a-long, even if it is a few (okay like 9) months late.  Anywho…the everyday reversible shopper (pattern 2) seemed like it would make a great Christmas gift!

I loved this bag so much I didn’t want to give it away as a gift…but at least I know it went to a deserving home!  It definitely has me energized to dive into the sew along!

And now you know why I have a Christmas Crafty Crap hangover, why my husband thinks I’m crazy (he may or may not have been cracking a “whip” behind my back on Christmas day as everyone opened their crafty gifts), and why I’m late for work today.

Official announcement about the Many Mini Modern Blocks QAL coming soon…tonight or tomorrow I promise!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

