Day 7: 12 Days of Christmas Crafty Crap

Well, here we are…past the halfway point and I haven’t gone crazy yet.  I’m really excited to share Day 7’s project with you.  It’s my Charmed Prints QAL finish!  Gen X Quilter has hosted this great QAL and it’s finished just in time for Christmas!  Too bad I don’t have anyone in mind for this sweet little quilt, so it’s headed to the linen closet until the next friend’s baby shower rolls around.

I learned several new techniques on this quilt and was surprised just how tricky some of these blocks were to make on a miniature scale.  I’m particularly pleased with my choice of quilting, a simple zig-zagged stitch-in-the-ditch style. (Note to self: find out if this is in fact a “real” quilting method, or I did I just make that up…I am really good at making stuff up!)

Here’s the finished quilt, made mostly with fabrics from the Remix collection by Ann Kelle for Robert Kaufman fabrics:


And here’s a few close-ups of the quilt including the new-to-me technique of flange binding, my favorite part of the quilt: the star blocks from the center, and a close-up of my made-up zig-zag quilting:

I had so much fun completing this quilt-a-long!  Thanks again Gen X Quilter for putting this one together!

Speaking of quilt-a-longs, I have this crazy idea…

Have any of you seen the new book Modern Blocks by Susanne Woods?  It’s full of amazing quilt blocks and I had such fun looking at all of the blocks, I knew I just had to have one…of each.  Yep, that’s right…all 99 blocks.  The more I looked at the book, I came to the realization that I couldn’t possibly use 99 12″ finished blocks.  So, what’s a girl to do?

Make mini blocks of course!  My husband thinks I’m crazy but I want to host a QAL and I think shrinking these awesome blocks down and making a few at a time will fit the bill perfectly!  But if you’re interested in the full-size QAL, the folks over at SeamedUP have just the thing for you!

Watch for the official announcement soon!  I’m planning to start the QAL on 1/1/2012.

Until tomorrow….

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

