Day 2: 12 Days of Christmas Crafty Crap

Ok…somehow I’m batting 100 right now.  I’ve actually managed to get the project for my second post done and ready for prime time.  This crafty project is for the Columbus Modern Quilt Guild‘s sewing caddy swap.  One of our members, Linda, from Dragon Threads put together this great tutorial for us to follow.  My partner, Paul, mentioned that he liked blues and greys, so I couldn’t resist using fabrics from Sweetwater’s Hometown collection.

After a little inspiration, and since Paul was kind enough to share his email with me, I decided to ask him where he considered his hometown to be.  While Paul is a Chicagoland native, here’s what he had to say about where he calls home (none other than good ol’ Columbus, OH):

“I have now officially lived here…longer than I have any other city in my life.  My wife is here, my children have grown up here, this is
definitely home.”

To pay some special attention to Paul’s hometown, I spent a few hours pouring through pictures I’ve taken over the years.  I knew that somewhere I had this great picture of the Columbus skyline I had taken a few years back and it was just dying to be used in this project.

Here’s how it turned out:

A close up of the Columbus skyline I printed on fusible printer-friendly fabric :

Now it’s all wrapped up (with a fabric scrap from another of the 12 days of Christmas projects) and ready for the swap tomorrow…

Until tomorrow…it’s going to be a good one!

1/21/2012 UPDATE: My swap partner Paul, who blogs over at Outnumbered Quilter, blogged about the sewing caddy I created!

Check out his post here:  Outnumbered Quilter

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

