Day 1: 12 Days of Christmas Crafty Crap

So…no blog posts recently.  Why, you ask?  Because I had the INSANE idea to make everyone’s Christmas presents this year.  I’ve been busy with “crafty Christmas crap” as I’ve come to call it.

Ok, confesssion…I haven’t really done a lot of sewing, mostly just spending all my dear husband’s money on fabric and other goodies with all of the best intentions in the world to get moving on all these projects.  And then….I realized  over the weekend that Christmas is less than two weeks away…eek!  But have no fear, a plan of attack has been developed:

1. Each day between now and Christmas I MUST complete one of the myriad of Christmas/holiday gifts.
2. Must post about it each day (reasoning: if I blog each day for 12 days, then maybe I’ll become a more regular blogger?)

So, without further ado…here’s the first project I’ve finished.  I started it this weekend and finished it up this morning before work.  It’s the Rock Garden quilt by Quilt Dad from the Moda Fresh Fabric Treats book.  It’s the first time I’ve worked with batiks which aren’t my style, but will make a great housewarming gift for some good friends of ours.   This present is being gifted this Friday, hence it had to be first on the punch list.  I hope they like it 🙂

And a little close-up:

Ready for my closeup!

My lovely little Dachshund Derby can’t stand pictures being taken of anything other than her, so she kept trying to sneak into the pictures.  She’s so stinkin’ cute, I couldn’t resist posting a picture of her with the quilt:

Derby's trying to steal the show...again!

So until tomorrow folks…day 2 of the 12 days of Christmas!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Day 1: 12 Days of Christmas Crafty Crap

  1. Katharine says:

    Like you, I decided to make gifts this holiday season, but time got away from me (via family and health issues, etc.). Still, I hope to get some projects done and will post them on my blog eventually. http://www.katharinehouk.com
    Welcome to this whacky world of fiber!
    K.

Leave a Reply

