It’s the most wonderful time of the year!


I have to confess…Black Friday is my MOST FAVORITE holiday of the year!  The quilty bargains in my hometown are not to be missed either!  I’m putting together a map to plan my day on Black Friday:

1. 6 AM: JoAnn Fabrics for $1.49/yd flannel solids.  I love to use flannel for quilt backs because it gives them such a soft cozy feel and a little more weight…and at $1.49…I just might buy everything they have in stock!

4. 9 AM: (yes, that’s right, I’m anticipating 3 hours at my friendly neighborhood JoAnn’s…that cutting counter line is usually something else)  Sew to Speak, which is by far my favorite little shop in town.  I don’t know if they’ll have any Black Friday specials, but they are opening early…so here’s hoping 🙂

3. 10 AM: A great little shop in my neighborhood, Red Rooster Quilts is offering 25% off any one item, just in time for me to purchase backing for the quilt I’m making my parents for Christmas using Fandango charm squares.

4. 11 AM: Heading over to Quilt Beginnings to take advantage of 40% off any one item…hmm…to buy fabric or a new foot for my awesome sewing machine?  I must remember to bring my tote bag too…$1.50 fat quarters for the bag ladies!

Then I’ll be rounding out the day with a Friday Sew-in at Quilt Trends.  I’m going to do my best to wait until Saturday to buy anything from there, when all of their holiday fabric is 40% off, the entire store is 15% off AND Sue, the sweetest store owner in town, will be showing off some of the goodies from Quilt Market earlier this month.

So as to not leave you with any inspiration, check out the wine gift bag I made before dinner tonight to take along for tomorrow’s delicious turkey festivities.  This was made using a handy dandy “Charming Wine Gift Bag” tutorial from Moda Bake Shop courtesy of ReannaLily Designs .  This couldn’t have been easier to make and the results are too cute in Moda’s Buttercup charm pack.  You need just 9 charms to make 1 bag, so I picked out the browns from the pack for a fall themed gift bag.

Here’s to a Thanksgiving Day filled with turkey, time with family,and dreams of the Black Friday bargains to come!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

